Everything Wrong with the Bretonnian Longsword

EDIT
I just found out about a way to shorten consecutive riposte recoveries, which on paper should still only solve a minority of the problems mentioned below while adding new ones, but I don’t like talking about something I have no experience with, so I decided to shut up for a while and see how this discovery works out in practice over the coming days. :upside_down_face:

I really want to like this sword, it fits the exclusive shield combo, it’s as if he just puts the shield away, it is faction-specific and has interesting mechanics and beautiful animations.
However, the more I use it, the more I hate it. The design just feels so bad as if nobody has ever tested it. I am going to list the problems I have experienced and a few ideas that might fix these. I have been playing on both legend and cata but I feel its problems are much more pronounced on cata than on legend.

• Slow attacks for a 1h weapon.
    This means you often cannot just interrupt sudden attackers on reaction and have to combine it with evasive footwork or a block. Both things that can’t always be used.

• Very slow recoveries into block. Even after swings you often have to dodge to avoid getting hit because of how long it takes to recover your swing into a block, with the exception of light1 which can be cut short if timed right.

• Poor cleave, at least on cata, meaning the amount of enemies swinging at you with impunity while you are also swinging at them but with your blade getting stuck on someone else is even greater and makes the slow block recovery even more disastrous.

• Useless riposte feature.