Broken map commentary

So this is a pretty large topic, but I’ll try to be concise.

The VO in this game is… in a pretty shoddy state across the board. It used to be really bad, now it’s just bad. Be prepared for a lot of things being stated as facts. I’m not a developer, but I am someone who’s unhealthily obsessed with Vermintide’s flavor dialogue, and since late 2015 I’ve been paying a lot of attention to how it works. What I’m putting here is a list of findings and suggestions based on my understanding of what level commentary should be like. If anyone out there has OCD to rival mine, then by all means, correct me.

There are two types of map commentary. Lines and dialogue. V1 only ever had lines, V2 has added dialogue and is struggling to make it work. Note that when I say dialogue, I mean full exchanges that happen on a specific level; V1 had dialogue, but it triggered irrespective of maps (safe for DLC packs). V1 has both map-irrespective conversations (which are completely dysfunctional at the moment) and map-bound dialogue.

That being said, this thread is primarily about lines.

The simple fact is that compared to V1, V2 is frankly horrible with these. Map lines played very consistently in the original, with the only exception being that one time fatfish broke the lines on every single small map (MtR, SR, etc) and never fixed them again. Mainline maps however? Like clockwork, even through special spawns and hordes attacking. Not even remotely the case here.

Furthermore, a lot of levels simply lack commentary for places that would absolutely be commented on in V1 - or, indeed, on the more privileged maps of V2. The map VO is simply unfinished, to this very day.