New Xbox Player - Looking for Tips/Answers!

Hello All,

I’m new to the Vermintide series (big 40K nerd though), and I’ve been playing it for a couple weeks now. Enjoying the game a lot so far, although that is sometimes in spite of it’s attempts to annoy me. :slight_smile:

I’m pretty much permanently playing Quickplay on Veteran at this point, maining an Ironbreaker Bardin who I’ve leveled up to 25 (my talents are set to MMMML, in case anyone wanted to know). My overall power is up to something like 425, and my drops are around 200 power now (I’ve heard this number just increases over time, as you get more loot?). I’m rocking an Axe/Shield and dragon pistols. However, as long as I get paired with a decent group, I must say Veteran is getting pretty trivial to beat.

Anyway, I’m just trying to get better at the game, as well as getting answers to a few general questions that have been bugging me:

1. What is the best way to use the IB Ult? I mostly use it by running into crowds and trying to get them to aggro on me, since I can take the hits. However, it doesn’t seem to affect bosses by default, and most hordes of regular enemies tend to get melted down pretty quick either way. What are the usual circumstances in which the IB Ult is most useful? I’ve heard it can interrupt bosses (like the Chaos Spawn when it grabs someone) - is that true?

2. Is weapon+shield worth it? I’ve seen conflicting opinions here about the shields being useless, and a 2H being your best option. However, the shield bash seems really useful for crowd control, as well as clearing a path if you get surrounded. Axe+Shield feels really good to me, but admittedly I haven’t spent a ton of time using the other options.