Melee feels unrewarding

Let me start off by saying I’m not a long time player, I started playing a few days ago. But I played a lot. Got the elf to level 25. I played mostly Handmaiden with 2 friend, one plays Sienna the other plays the dwarf with guns.

Melee as a handmaiden is fun, it’s engaging, you have to dodge, block, shove and use your dash strategically to be successful. However, the range on enemy attacks is so off… It’s very hard to dodge their attacks, its like my hitbox is immense or there weapon magically extend way over what I actually see.

I feel like I’ve gotten pretty good at it but I kept being crushed in damage kills and basically everything by my teammates despite overgearing them severely.

So, I just started shooting everything with the +40% ammo talent. It was just so much more effective and I rarely ran out of ammo on most map. I killed more enemy, did more damage and took less damage and started to dominate the score board for minimal effort.

Then I figured, I’ll just play Waystalker. Wow, I can just run around and maw everything down, point and click no need to dodge, block, shove or use ult wisely.

So lets talk about risk/reward, what is the point of going melee if you have to put triple the effort to do half the job. There is NO reason to go melee.

My suggestion is to make dodging more forgiving and give more damage reduction to melee character.

2 Likes

Play as you like. Tho going on champ will turn you 180 degree.

Try out Shade with Glaive come back and share with us what you like more then=]

1 Like

I tried shade for a game, felt pretty underwhelming. I just feel that melee need some kind of buff, they are fun to play but so week compared to range.

Pretty much what he said.

For me its the other way around, absolute hate casters and range only characters, to each their own I suppose.

Impressive game, I will give shade another shot

Give it a shoot.