Do berserkers have damage resistance while attacking?

Hi,
It may be just a prsonal sensation, based on the fact that when berserkers attack you (especially in groups) you just want them to stop or find a way to get out of their way, but do berserkers become less susceptible to damage while in “frenzied” mode?
Has anyone noticed anything like this?
Is it an intended game mechanic?

AFAIK, damage goes through the same as usual, but they are pretty resistent to staggering, unless you use something like the Greatsword. It’s one of the main reasons why I like it so much, it’s great at breaking up a berserker/monk group charge.

1 Like

Less damage taken from many ranged weapons plus less bonus damage taken from stagger is what makes the berserker class work.

2 Likes

Use shotguns :sunglasses:

How so ? I’ve been playing exclusively with the greatsword for a couple of months now, and I’ve never stopped a berzerker frenzy with it. Which difficulty are you playing on ? :thinking:

y good point, I’m talking Legend in my case

@FrivolousWizard already answered basically : enemies take extra damage by default when staggered ; and since it is quite hard to stagger a frenzied berzerker, they do not take that extra damage.
Other than that, they don’t have any added damage reduction as far as I know.

2 Likes

Hadn’t thought of that; I’ll try to see what happens by switching to either Enhanced Power or Smiter, since those should be independent of stagger.
At least Enhanced Power is a flat increase; Smiter should be a flat increase too, but just on the first strike, then the stagger counters apply as usual…
I’ll give it a go and see if things get better, thx everyone for your feedback