The hero power mechanic as is makes it a lot harder to get newbies into games

I’ve been playing this game for a couple of years now, and the constant complaint I get from other people I encourage to try it is twofold:

1. They can’t play on higher difficulties yet because they aren’t allowed, whilst they find their current difficulty level trivial
  2. When we play with them the game also becomes trivial, becuase we’re playing at too low difficulty level for the power of the party.

This is a source of great frustration for me: Veterans complain that the difficulty level for carrying other people through the game is too low, newbies complain about the grind they need to go through to get to the challenging parts of the game.

Similarily, because of the way hero levels work, switching heroes regularely makes it harder to progess to higher difficulties since you then run into the hero power gate again.

The winds of magic expansion has a similar issue: A few other veterans I play it only recently got the winds of magic expansion and as such don’t have the same amount of weave power as me, so they have to grind on the lower difficulty levels (or play lots of regular missions again) before they can get to my level.

The whole system, as is, serves only to prevent people from playing together and in a lot of ways makes the game less fun for beginners.

If you really need a system of progression, consider making it based around cosmetics instead. It frustrates me that I can easily get anyone to play something like Left 4 Dead 2 and have an enjoyable time no matter who plays it, whilst with Vermintide 2 I have to start considering their power level and what have you.

4 Likes