Do We Know What Made The Crater In Helmgart?

It’s been bugging me since I started playing. I haven’t heard anything about it in game except for them essentially going “Wow, look at that!”
So I’m wondering if I missed something or if it has been left unclear in the story.

The skaven would have tunneled it and brought it down on purpose. Big part of their tactics.

6 Likes

yo mama so fat, when she rolled off the bed she collapsed helmgart

6 Likes

But to remove that much earth you need to put it somewhere else. And I don’t see a mountain near Helmgart.

Maybe they pushed it in the Skittergate?

But really, there are so many large caves there that the earth could have been put almost anywhere, even without taking magic into account.

It is a known fact in the warhammer univers: skaven tunneling causes massive collapsing. They have an under empire bigger than imaginable, thus the dirt can easily be send to some deep pit already existing or anywhere else. Its never said in the game but its an obvious fact for the heroes, there are even legend telling of the destruction skaven can inflict on the surface of the earth just by digging.

5 Likes

They probably either collapsed a cave under the city or dug one…or made a warpstone bomb which evaporated a large amount of soil and rock causing the same result.

Giant empty space under town with insufficient support.

Thanks for all the input. I was never heavily acquainted with the Skaven side of the lore.

I strongly recommend goatamon’s ongoing lore series. It’s pretty informative and heckin fun to read. The wiki is a good supplement but if you’re going that deep it’s probably worth actually reading the books imo, as it’s pretty much just one big book report.

1 Like

Well if you look closely at the release video when the game came out… you do actually see how the invasion unfolded… at least to a certain extent…